top of page
  • Writer's pictureVinz Trebor Daguil

Something far more precious than Tallano gold


I have always believed that movies and documentaries have the power to change someone's perspective, inspire someone to create, and even start a revolution.


I remember watching Heneral Luna when I was younger and being in awe of the cinematography, acting, dialogue, and overall storytelling. I told myself, "This is what Filipino movies could be." And as a child who wanted nothing more than to become a filmmaker, it gave me a sense of hope that I could one day create films that would leave a mark on our society.


When I studied araling panlipunan in high school, I used to take down notes and memorize dates so that I could ace the exams. However, my history teacher once told me something that truly struck a chord–that history is not supposed to be memorized but read and understood. It is unlike Math and Science which have formulas and concrete answers. It is far more intricate and complex.


History involves real people with real emotions, experiences, and aspirations--as we all know, people are complicated.


The value of empathy and truth


I have read many books and have written countless reflection papers. However, I believe that the most impactful and effective way we can understand our Motherland's history is through honest and reliable filmmaking.


Watching a historical film or documentary can be a truly immersive and even life-changing experience. It takes me on a journey that teaches me important lessons I can only learn from people who have experienced such sorrow and victory.


There is something special about seeing a true story unfold before your very eyes when actors portray real people who played a significant role in changing the course of our history. The people we call heroes who contributed their talents, fought different battles, and even sacrificed their lives for Filipinos are truly worth learning from.


When I see raw emotions through a screen, I learn empathy. I can put myself in a historical figure's shoes and even relate their experiences to my own. I find that visual and audio elements help me better understand and remember events.


The media, such as movies and tv shows, play a vital role in presenting the harsh realities of our history and shedding light on important issues in our country. Although, it is important to note that certain films may be unreliable because of dramatized scenes for interest and shock factor. Nonetheless, I believe we can still separate history from pure entertainment if we put the truth and the consciousness of the Filipino people first.



The golden years of disinformation


I'm going to be honest, I've been scared because lately, I do not know who I can trust. Different media outlets have not been reliable, especially during the pandemic and elections. Individuals who have the power and money to control the media continue to stain the core of journalism. This is evident from the likes of SMNI and Net25 who blatantly show bias and prejudice when delivering news.


We are in the age of misinformation and disinformation. A time when people could easily bend the truth to suit their personal agendas. This is especially true in the Philippines, where fake news spreads like wildfire on social media sites like TikTok and Facebook. There is no doubt that the negative impacts of fake news and propaganda are evident in our society and sadly, even with regards to how we remember Philippine history.


More accessible historical films and documentaries


Many stories may discomfort people and even instill fear and anger. However, I believe that if we visualize the bloodshed, the pain, and the loss, people may finally learn and open their eyes. I still have hope that we can prevent history from repeating itself.


We have seen movies such as Heneral Luna and Goyo and the impact they have made in the past. Isn't it about time we produce stories worth telling and allow them to be within reach for people who cannot afford to buy a movie ticket or a book?


After the elections, Liway, a movie about martial law and Marcos' dictatorship, was made accessible to the public through a google drive link free for anyone to download and watch. In a Facebook post, they said, "Pinned in the comments is the HD copy of "Liway" on a Google Drive. This is yours now. Feel free to create copies, torrents, splice it, stream it, use it for your own purposes." Their gesture brought tears to my eyes because it reflects how much fear and grief there is. It made me question what could happen in the next six years.


This is only an example of how priceless historical films can be. It shows that the creators who worked hard to produce Liway are willing to sacrifice their rights to it so that more people can watch the movie. Moreover, in hopes that it can somehow affect their strong views and opinions about the "golden age."


We can show The Kingmaker, Dekada '70, Jose Rizal, and many other significant films on television and even through easily accessible platforms such as Youtube and Facebook. Furthermore, we can build a space where these historical films and documentaries can be accessed in one place.


I believe that we can utilize these films to combat Tiktok and Youtube videos that promulgate false information. We can make historical films and documentaries more mainstream and readily available through proper funding and support. Through these forms of media, I believe that we can restore historical consciousness in our country.


When we are able to push for more accessible historical films and documentaries, we give the Filipino people something far more valuable than Tallano gold–wisdom.



28 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page